The European Commission


The Directorate-General for Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs (DG Growth) oversees the European Commission's activities in the field of satellite navigation, including the Galileo and EGNOS programmes.

The Directorate-General for Market, Industry, Entrepreneurship and SMEs (DG Growth) reports to the Commissioner for Industry and Entrepreneurship, Commissioner Bieńkowska.

DG Growth works to strengthen Europe's industry and promote the transition to a green economy; to promote innovation as a means to generate jobs and meet societal needs; to encourage the creation and growth of small businesses and promote an entrepreneurial culture; to ensure an open internal market for goods; and to support the European presence in space.

  The European Space Agency


The European Space Agency (ESA) is Europe's ‘gateway to space'. Its mission is to shape the development of Europe's space capability and ensure that investment in space continues to deliver benefits to the citizens of Europe and the world.

ESA's 22 Member States are Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. Canada also sits on the Council and takes part in some projects under a Cooperation Agreement.

The Agency is headed by a Director-General who is elected by the ESA Council every four years. Each individual research sector has its own Directorate and reports to the Director-General. The current Director-General of ESA is Jan Woerner.

Updated: Mar 20, 2016